Tfae celebrates excellence
We'd like to share with you our amazing 2019-2020 Distinguished Scholars and Inspirational Educators. While we cannot meet in person to celebrate and honor these individuals like we'd like, they certainly still deserve their moment in the spotlight.

Our Distinguished Scholars have overcome obstacles and challenges to be successful in their academics, involved in their community, and serve as leaders in their school. We are so proud of them for all they have accomplished! The scholars then chose their Inspirational Educator, someone who has helped shaped them to the person they are today. We are honored to share them with you.

Many thanks to our Community Partners Hancock WhitneyThe Times of Houma/Thibodaux, and Terrebonne General Medical Center who will help us showcase and provide meaningful gifts to these students and educators for their hard work. 
Screen shot 2020 04 16 at 4.56.07 pm

TFAE Celebrates Excellence Program
View the official program designed and
donated by Rushing Media here.

2019-2020 TFAE Distinguished Scholars
and Inspirational Educators

Distinguished Scholar Alexis Prosperie
and Inspirational Educator Susan Adams

South Terrebonne High School

Distinguished Scholar Holland Methe
Terrebonne High School

Inspirational Educator Leslie Bourdier
Houma Junior High School

Distinguished Scholar Darion Sneeze
Louis Miller Terrebonne Career & Technical High

Inspirational Educator Lakeisha Navy
Ellender Memorial High School

Distinguished Scholar Ty Henry and Inspirational Educator Tony Bergeron
H. L. Bourgeois High School

Distinguished Scholar Hayden Rice
Terrebonne High School

Inspirational Educator
Melissa Williamson

H.L. Bourgeois High School
(Formerly Houma Junior High School)

Distinguished Scholar Lane Crochet and Inspirational Educator
Penny Louivere

Ellender Memorial High School

Distinguished Scholar Jameliah Anderson
Louis Miller Terrebonne Career & Technical High

Inspirational Educator Rose Ursery
H.L. Bourgeois High School

Distinguished Scholar Mark Allen Racine
Bayou Cane Adult Education Center

Inspirational Educator Clint Domangue
Fletcher Technical Community College

Distinguished Scholar Tiffany Nunez and Inspirational Educator Kenya Fields
Ellender Memorial High School

Distinguished Scholar Aaliyah Wright
 and Inspirational Educator
Chequita Martin

South Terrebonne High School

Distinguished Scholar Wilbert Collins and Inspirational Educator Eugenie Brown
H. L. Bourgeois High School

James J. Buquet, Jr. Award of Distinction

James charles

Life Long Educator Receives Award

Terrebonne Foundation for Academic Excellence (TFAE) has named James Charles as the recipient of the 2020 James J. Buquet, Jr. Award of Distinction.

The award was established by TFAE in 2008 to honor Mr. Buquet’s commitment to public education. The award is given annually to a Terrebonne Parish public high school graduate recognized for vision and excellence in their field and for their service in our community.

Mr. Charles has dedicated his life to serving the students of Terrebonne Parish. He began his career as a math teacher at Southdown High School. He taught throughout the parish before becoming an elementary math curriculum specialist, an assistant principal, and coordinator of migrant education.  In 1988, he was named the first-ever principal of Ellender Memorial High School. Mr. Charles has also served as supervisor of secondary, adult, and vocational education, Assistant Superintendent, and Interim Superintendent.

An avid volunteer, Mr. Charles also created many enrichment programs for local underprivileged and at-risk youth. He is a 1960 graduate of Southdown High School and received his degree from Southern University. He received an Honorary Doctorate from Southern University in 2019.

Teachers and Principals of the Year

Congratulations 2019-2020 TPSD Teachers of the Year

Congratulations 2019-2020 TPSD Principals of the Year

Community Partners

Hancock whitney
Csi logo with multi colors alone